Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2025 Tesla Model X is associated with 14 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 2 reports (14% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 88 to 98 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 294–329 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 14 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (2 / 14%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 88 MPGe across 3 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Tesla Model X?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Model X 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 103 MPGe 94 MPGe 98 MPGe 329 mi $750 / yr
Model X Plaid (20in wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 98 MPGe 89 MPGe 94 MPGe 314 mi $800 / yr
Model X Plaid (22in wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 92 MPGe 84 MPGe 88 MPGe 294 mi $850 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2025 Tesla Model X provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 329 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Tesla Model X?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Tesla Model X.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Tesla Model X models.
View complete 2025 Tesla Model X crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Tesla Model X?

Summary of 14 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
14
Crash Reports
2
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
1
Total Injuries
1

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 2 complaints (1 crash)
AIR BAGS,SEAT BELTS,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 1 complaint
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 1 complaint
Forward Collision Avoidance 1 complaint (1 crash)
Seat Belts 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2025 Tesla Model X problems & component breakdown (12 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Tesla Model X?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V172000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2024 Model S and 2021-2025 Model X vehicles. An air bag with the incorrect horn pad may have been installed, preventing the horn from sounding.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla service will inspect and install an air bag with the correct horn pad as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed May 20, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-25-20-001.
NHTSA Campaign #25V002000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2025 Model 3, Model S, 2023-2025 Model X, and Model Y vehicles. The computer circuit board may short, resulting in the loss of the rearview camera image. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla released an over-the-air (OTA) software update, free of charge. Tesla will also identify any vehicles that experienced a circuit board failure, or stress that may lead to a circuit board failure, and replace the affected computers, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed March 7, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-25-00-001.
NHTSA Campaign #24V967000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE:CUSHION

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2025 Model S and Model X vehicles. The driver's air bag could tear during deployment. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) numbers 208, "Occupant Crash Protection" and 212, "Windshield Mounting."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla service will replace the air bag assembly, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed February 21, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-24-20-001.
View all 2025 Tesla Model X recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 Tesla Model X

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 Tesla Model X

How many safety recalls does the 2025 Tesla Model X have?

The 2025 Tesla Model X is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 Tesla Model X?

NHTSA records list 14 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 Tesla Model X. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 2 filings (14% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 Tesla Model X?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 Tesla Model X in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2025 Tesla Model X?

The all-electric 2025 Tesla Model X is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 294 to 329 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 98 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.