Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2024 Model S and 2021-2025 Model X vehicles. An air bag with the incorrect horn pad may have been installed, preventing the horn from sounding.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2024 Tesla Model X is associated with 26 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 8 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Other / Uncategorized, accounting for 6 reports (23% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 90 to 100 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 300–335 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 26 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 8 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Other / Uncategorized (6 / 23%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 90 MPGe across 3 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Tesla Model X?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model X 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 104 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 100 MPGe | 335 mi | $750 / yr |
| Model X Plaid (20in wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 102 MPGe | 92 MPGe | 98 MPGe | 326 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X Plaid (22in wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 94 MPGe | 86 MPGe | 90 MPGe | 300 mi | $850 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Tesla Model X?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Tesla Model X.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Tesla Model X models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Tesla Model X?
Summary of 26 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2024 Tesla Model X problems & component breakdown (17 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Tesla Model X?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2025 Model 3, Model S, 2023-2025 Model X, and Model Y vehicles. The computer circuit board may short, resulting in the loss of the rearview camera image. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2025 Model S and Model X vehicles. The driver's air bag could tear during deployment. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) numbers 208, "Occupant Crash Protection" and 212, "Windshield Mounting."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2024 Tesla Model X
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2024 Tesla Model X
How many safety recalls does the 2024 Tesla Model X have?
The 2024 Tesla Model X is associated with 8 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2024 Tesla Model X?
NHTSA records list 26 consumer defect complaints for the 2024 Tesla Model X. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Other / Uncategorized, appearing in 6 filings (23% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2024 Tesla Model X?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2024 Tesla Model X in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2024 Tesla Model X?
The all-electric 2024 Tesla Model X is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 300 to 335 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 100 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.