Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2016 Model X vehicles. The front and center roof cosmetic trim pieces may be adhered to the vehicle without primer. As a result, one or both pieces of trim may separate from the vehicle.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2016 Tesla Model X has zero owner defect complaints and 12 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 86 to 93 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 200–289 miles across 5 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 12 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 86 MPGe across 5 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2016 Tesla Model X?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model X AWD - 75D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 91 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 238 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X AWD - 60D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 91 MPGe | 94 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 200 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X AWD - 90D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 90 MPGe | 94 MPGe | 92 MPGe | 257 mi | $850 / yr |
| Model X AWD - P90D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 89 MPGe | 90 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 250 mi | $850 / yr |
| Model X AWD - P100D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 81 MPGe | 92 MPGe | 86 MPGe | 289 mi | $900 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2016 Tesla Model X?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2016 Tesla Model X.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2016 Tesla Model X models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2016 Tesla Model X?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2016 Tesla Model X problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2016 Tesla Model X?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2024 Model S, 2015-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles. In the event of an unbelted driver, the seat belt warning light and audible chime may not activate as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, 2019-2024 Model Y, and 2024 Cybertruck vehicles. An incorrect font size is displayed on the instrument panel for the Brake, Park, and Antilock Brake System (ABS) warning lights. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems" and 135, "Light Vehicle Brake Systems."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2016 Tesla Model X
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2016 Tesla Model X
How many safety recalls does the 2016 Tesla Model X have?
The 2016 Tesla Model X is associated with 12 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2016 Tesla Model X?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2016 Tesla Model X.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2016 Tesla Model X?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2016 Tesla Model X in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2016 Tesla Model X?
The all-electric 2016 Tesla Model X is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 200 to 289 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 93 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.