Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2019 Porsche 911 Speedster, 2020 Porsche 911 Carrera S Coupe, Carrera 4S Coupe, and Carrera S Cabriolet vehicles. The screw connection on the rear axle upper control arm may be loose.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2019 Porsche 911 is associated with 2 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Engine, accounting for 1 reports (50% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 50 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3l 6-cyl, 3.8l 6-cyl, 4l 8-cyl, 4L 8-Cyl plug-in hybrid, and 4l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 16 to 25 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 48 MPGe (20 MPG on gasoline) with up to 14 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year. The 2019 model year represents a generational transition for the Porsche 911 in the U.S., encompassing both the 7th Generation (991) and 8th Generation (992).
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 2 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Engine (1 / 50%)
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 16–25 MPG across 50 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Porsche 911?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 911 Carrera | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| 911 Carrera Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 21 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 21 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4 | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 21 MPG | 27 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 21 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| 911 Carrera Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 29 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 29 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 28 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 28 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 29 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 20 MPG | 28 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 19 MPG | 28 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4 | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 19 MPG | 28 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 19 MPG | 28 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 GTS Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 25 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4 GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera T | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 19 MPG | 28 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera GTS Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 GTS Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Targa 4 GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Carrera GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Carrera GTS Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 GTS | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Turbo | 3.8L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Turbo Cabriolet | 3.8L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Turbo S | 3.8L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| 911 Turbo S Cabriolet | 3.8L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo Executive | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid Executive Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid ST Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo ST | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 23 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera T | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 16 MPG | 25 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| 911 Turbo S Exclusive Cabriolet | 3.8L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 16 MPG | 22 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| 911 GT3 | 4L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| 911 GT3 Touring | 4L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 14 MPG | 21 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| 911 GT2 RS | 3.8L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 15 MPG | 21 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Cayenne Turbo | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| 911 GT3 | 4L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 13 MPG | 21 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| 911 GT3 RS | 4L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| 911 Speedster | 4L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 14 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Porsche 911?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Porsche 911.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Porsche 911 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Porsche 911?
Summary of 2 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2019 Porsche 911 problems & component breakdown (2 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Porsche 911?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2014 Cayman and Cayman S, 2014-2016 911 GT3, 2016 911 GT3 RS and 911 R, 2018 911 GT3 and 911 GT2 RS and 2019 911 GT3 RS, 911 GT3, and 911 GT2 RS vehicles. The Child Restraint System (CRS) instructions within the Owner's Manual may not provide enough specificity for proper installation. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 225, "Child Restraint Anchorage Systems."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2019 Porsche 911
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2019 Porsche 911
How many safety recalls does the 2019 Porsche 911 have?
The 2019 Porsche 911 is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2019 Porsche 911?
NHTSA records list 2 consumer defect complaints for the 2019 Porsche 911. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Engine, appearing in 1 filings (50% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2019 Porsche 911?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2019 Porsche 911 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2019 Porsche 911 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2019 Porsche 911 range from 16 to 25 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.