Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 Hyundai Kona has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.

EPA testing covers 6 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 1.6l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 26 to 31 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 26–31 MPG across 6 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Kona FWD 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 28 MPG 35 MPG 31 MPG — $2,000 / yr
Kona FWD w/Stop-Start 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 29 MPG 34 MPG 31 MPG — $2,000 / yr
Kona FWD SX2 1.6T 8AT FWD 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 26 MPG 31 MPG 28 MPG — $2,200 / yr
Kona AWD w/Stop-Start 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 27 MPG 29 MPG 28 MPG — $2,200 / yr
Kona AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 26 MPG 29 MPG 27 MPG — $2,300 / yr
Kona AWD SX2 1.6T 8AT AWD 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 25 MPG 28 MPG 26 MPG — $2,350 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Hyundai Kona.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Hyundai Kona models.
View complete 2026 Hyundai Kona crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Hyundai Kona problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V452000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SEAT BELTS: REAR/OTHER:BUCKLE ASSEMBLY

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025 Kona Electric and 2026 Kona vehicles. The seat belt buckle in the rear center seat may fail to properly restrain an occupant during a crash.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Passengers are advised not to use the rear center seat until the recall remedy is performed. Dealers will replace the seat belt buckle assembly, free of charge. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed September 11, 2026. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 306. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 15, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V069000 Active Recall
Affected Component: STEERING:LINKAGES:KNUCKLE:SPINDLE:ARM

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2026 Kona vehicles. Due to a manufacturing error, the front steering knuckles may crack and break, which can result in a loss of vehicle steering control.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the front steering knuckles, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed March 5, 2026. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 295. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on February 7, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V047000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT CLUSTER/PANEL

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Tucson Hybrid, Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Electric (PHEV), 2026 IONIQ 5, Santa Cruz, Kona, Palisade, Palisade Hybrid, Santa Fe, Santa Fe Hybrid, Sonata, Sonata Hybrid, and Tucson vehicles. Due to a software error, the instrument panel display may fail. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 101, "Controls and Displays."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: The instrument panel display software will be updated over-the-air (OTA) or by a dealer, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed March 24, 2026. Owners may contact Hyundai's customer service at 855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 293. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on January 28, 2026.
View all 2026 Hyundai Kona recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Hyundai Kona

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Hyundai Kona

How many safety recalls does the 2026 Hyundai Kona have?

The 2026 Hyundai Kona is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Hyundai Kona.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Hyundai Kona?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Hyundai Kona in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Hyundai Kona get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Hyundai Kona range from 26 to 31 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.