Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2026 Cadillac Escalade and Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Suburban, and Tahoe, and GMC Sierra 1500, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles with four-wheel (4WD) or all-wheel drive (AWD), and certain 2015-2020 Suburban, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Yukon, Yukon XL, and Tahoe vehicles. A component missing from the drivetrain transfer case may cause the front and/or rear wheels to lock up without warning to the driver.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 10 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3l 6-cyl, 2.7l 4-cyl, 5.3l 8-cyl, and 6.2l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 15 to 25 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 15–25 MPG across 10 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Silverado 2WD Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 23 MPG | 28 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,200 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 22 MPG | 25 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD ZR2 (Sport/Off Road) Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 20 MPG | 23 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| Silverado 2WD | 2.7L 4-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 18 MPG | 21 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,100 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD 4M | 2.7L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 17 MPG | 21 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $3,250 / yr |
| Silverado 2WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 16 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD (Flex Fuel) | 5.3L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD | 6.2L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Silverado 4WD ZR2 | 6.2L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 14 MPG | 17 MPG | 15 MPG | — | $5,050 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors has decided that certain 2027 Chevrolet Bolt EV, 2025-2026 Cadillac OPTIQ, Chevrolet Colorado, Equinox EV, GMC Canyon, 2026 Buick Enclave, Envision, Cadillac CT5, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Escalade IQ, Escalade IQL, LYRIQ, VISTIQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Corvette Convertible, Corvette Coupe, Corvette Convertible E-Ray, Equinox, Silverado 1500, 2500, 3500, Silverado EV, Suburban 1500, Tahoe, Traverse, GMC Acadia, Hummer EV Pickup, Hummer EV SUV, Sierra 1500, 2500, 3500, Sierra EV, Terrain, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles. The radio may not have been set to the correct status to download the electronic owner's manual during production. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, “Occupant Protection.”
Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500, 2500, and 3500 vehicles. These vehicles may not have received an owner's manual during production. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 225, “Child Restraint Anchorage Systems.”
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500
How many safety recalls does the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 have?
The 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 range from 15 to 25 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.