Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Chevrolet Bolt EV vehicles previously recalled under NHTSA recall number 20V-701. The high voltage battery could catch fire when charged to full or nearly full capacity.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV is associated with 2 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Steering, accounting for 1 reports (50% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 119 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 238 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 2 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Steering (1 / 50%)
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 119 MPGe across 1 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bolt EV 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 128 MPGe | 110 MPGe | 119 MPGe | 238 mi | $650 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
Summary of 2 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV problems & component breakdown (2 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling all 2017-2018 and certain 2019 Chevrolet Bolt EV vehicles. The high voltage battery could catch fire when charged to full or nearly full capacity.
Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2017-2023 Chevrolet Bolt EV vehicles. This recall includes certain vehicles previously repaired incorrectly under NHTSA recall number 22V-930. After a crash with seat belt pretensioner deployment, the pretensioner exhaust may ignite carpet fibers near the B-pillar, causing a fire.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV
How many safety recalls does the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV have?
The 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV is associated with 4 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
NHTSA records list 2 consumer defect complaints for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Steering, appearing in 1 filings (50% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV?
The all-electric 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 238 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 119 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.