Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2020-2021 M2 Coupe and 2020 M4 Coupe vehicles. Fuel injectors may have been installed without a damping component which is used to reduce vibration. If a damping component is not present, vibration will increase at the connection between the fuel line and the fuel rail, which over time, can result in damage at the connection.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 BMW M2 is associated with 2 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Engine, accounting for 1 reports (50% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 14 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 3l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 19 to 26 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 2 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Engine (1 / 50%)
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 19–26 MPG across 14 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 BMW M2?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M235i xDrive | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 23 MPG | 32 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,900 / yr |
| M240i Coupe M Performance | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i xDrive Coupe M Performance | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i xDrive Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i Convertible | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i xDrive Convertible | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| M240i Coupe M Performance | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 19 MPG | 27 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| M240i Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 19 MPG | 27 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| M240i Convertible | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 19 MPG | 27 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| M2 Competition Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| M2 CS Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 17 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| M2 Competition Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 17 MPG | 23 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| M2 CS Coupe | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 16 MPG | 23 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 BMW M2?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 BMW M2.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 BMW M2 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 BMW M2?
Summary of 2 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 BMW M2 problems & component breakdown (2 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 BMW M2?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2019-2020 230i, 230i xDrive, M240i, M240i xDrive, M2 Competition Coupe, 430i, 430i xDrive, 440i, 440i xDrive, M4, and 2019 330i xDrive Sportswagon vehicles. The driver and passenger knee air bag assemblies may have been improperly folded and assembled.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 BMW M2
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 BMW M2
How many safety recalls does the 2020 BMW M2 have?
The 2020 BMW M2 is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 BMW M2?
NHTSA records list 2 consumer defect complaints for the 2020 BMW M2. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Engine, appearing in 1 filings (50% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 BMW M2?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 BMW M2 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2020 BMW M2 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2020 BMW M2 range from 19 to 26 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.